NCWIT Harrold and Notkin Research and Graduate Mentoring Award

The NCWIT Harrold and Notkin Research and Graduate Mentoring Award is given in memory of Mary Jean Harrold and David Notkin, in honor of their outstanding research, graduate mentoring, and diversity contributions. The award recognizes faculty members from non-profit, U.S. institutions (excluding U.S. territories) who combine outstanding research accomplishments with excellence in graduate mentoring, as well as those who advocate for recruiting, encouraging, and promoting women and minorities in computing fields at both a local and national level.

The Call for Nomination Submissions for 2019 (Round 6) are open until December 2, 2018!


  • The award recipient’s institution receives a $5,000 gift from NCWIT, and the award recipient receives a certificate.
  • The award recipient will receive recognition at the 2019 NCWIT Summit, and reimbursement for his or her Summit travel.

Submit Your Nomination

Additional Information

(NOTE: NEW PROCESS!) The nominator must submit all nomination materials (including their letter of recommendation, nominee CV, list of students mentored, list of co-authored publications with graduate students and four letters of support) on behalf of the nominee no later than December 2, 2018 11:59 p.m. MST.

View the 2019 Harrold and Notkin Research and Graduate Mentoring Award Nomination Call & FAQs here, if you would like to see the information you will be asked to provide in the online form. Also included are eligibility details and important deadlines of this award.


View Previous Winners

For further information about any NCWIT Academic Alliance opportunities, please contact the NCWIT Academic Alliance Director at

To join the NCWIT Academic Alliance, simply complete this Academic Alliance Membership Form to be sent further details regarding membership.


People Involved: 

Leen Kiat Soh

Co-chair Liaison

Nancy Amato

Project Team Co-leader

Jennifer Rexford

Project Team Co-leader

Rick Adrion

Project Team Member

Maria Gini

Project Team Member

William Griswold

Project Team Member