Academic Alliance

The NCWIT Academic Alliance brings together more than 1000 distinguished representatives from academic computing programs at more than 350 colleges and universities across the country, spanning research universities, community colleges, women's colleges, and minority-serving institutions. Charged with implementing institutional change in higher education, the Academic Alliance provides feedback on NCWIT programs, contributes and adopts effective practices, and serves as a national agent of change. It meets several times per year to compare approaches and provide guidance and mutual support. Membership in the AA is free for participating academic institutions. See the full list of members here.

Academic Alliance member benefits include:

  • Access to leading-edge best practices for recruiting and retaining women
  • Opportunities to attend workshops and compare practices with other institutions
  • Ability to apply for funding opportunities and to advertise their departments and announcements
  • Participation in NCWIT marketing and branding campaigns
  • Publicize your opportunities via NCWIT Social Media by sending your post here.

For more information concerning membership look at what our members are doing, view the AA bylaws and Membership Agreement, fill out this form, or contact the AA project manager, Kim Kalahar, or one of the AA Co-chairs:

The Academic Alliance also supports two other Projects within NCWIT: NCWIT Extension Services for Undergraduate Programs and NCWIT Pacesetters. NCWIT Extension Services (ES) provides customized consultation services to members of the NCWIT Academic Alliance (AA) for implementing systemic change in their undergraduate programs (UP) in ways that increase enrollment, retention, and graduation of women, while NCWIT Pacesetters is a fast-track program in which senior executives from startups, corporations, universities, and government commit to increasing their numbers of technical women. Please use the links above to learn more about how you can become involved with these great projects.

Download the AA Information Sheet

Alliance Leadership

Sharon Mason

Rochester Institute of Technology

Charlie McDowell

University of California - Santa Cruz

Patricia Morreale

Kean University

Christine Alvarado

AA Advisory Committee
University of California - San Diego

Nancy Amato

AA Advisory Committee
Texas A&M University - College Station

Maureen Biggers

AA Advisory Committee
Indiana University

Margaret Burnett

AA Advisory Committee
Oregon State University

Carla Ellis

AA Advisory Committee
Duke University

J Strother Moore

AA Advisory Committee
University of Texas - Austin

Andrew B. Williams

AA Advisory Committee
Marquette University

Kim Kalahar

Program Manager