Previous NCWIT Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award Recipients

2018 Recipients

  • Dr. J. Jenny Li (Junior Faculty member at a BS or MS granting university): Assistant Professor, School of Computer Science, Kean University. Dr. Li’s undergraduate research mentoring has led to the publication of 20 co-authored papers, and several of her female mentees transferred into a computer science major as a result of working with her. Dr. Li has mentored more than 70 students, of whom 40 percent are women and 60 percent belong to minority groups that are underrepresented in STEM fields.

  • Dr. Gabriela Marcu (Junior Faculty member at a PhD granting university): Assistant Professor of Information Science in the College of Computing and Informatics, Drexel University. With Dr. Marcu’s encouragement, undergraduate research teams with little prior experience have designed technological interventions to help breast cancer survivors and people living with HIV take advantage of best practices for improved health. She actively facilitates undergraduate women’s participation at national and international conferences through poster presentations. Of her more than 30 mentees, 40 percent have gone on to graduate study in computing fields.

  • Dr. Zoë Wood (Senior Faculty member at a BS or MS granting university): Professor of Computer Science & Software Engineering in the College of Engineering, California Polytechnic State University. Dr. Wood’s passion for mentorship leads her not only to support teams of undergraduates in conducting original research, but also to mentor undergraduate computer science students in developing curricula to introduce computing topics to elementary, middle and high school girls in fun and creative ways. She has mentored more than 80 students and advised more than 10 individual women on their senior research projects.

  • Dr. Lori Pollock (Senior Faculty member at a PhD granting university): Professor in the Department of Computer and Information Sciences at the University of Delaware. Dr. Pollock’s approach to mentoring undergraduate researchers begins with training them in the process and mindset of research, then coaching them toward refining their projects and publishing their results. She has mentored 55 undergraduates, 50 percent of whom are women, and her students have collectively earned more than 35 coauthor credits on software engineering research publications.

(pictured from left to right): Lori Pollack, Gabriela Marcu, J. Jenny Li (not pictured Zoë Wood)

2016 Recipients

  • Dr. Bonita Sharif: Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science and Information Systems in the College of STEM, Youngstown State University
  • Dr. Amy Hurst: Assistant Professor, Human-Centered Computing in the Information Systems Department, the University of Maryland, Baltimore County
  • Dr. Daniel Garcia: Teaching Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, the University of California, Berkeley
  • Dr. Tiffany Barnes: Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science, North Carolina State University
2016 URM Group Photo
(pictured from left to right) Luz Gonzalez (Senior Vice President of Solutions Delivery for sponsor AT&T), Bonita Sharif, Daniel Garcia, Tiffany Barnes, and Amy Hurst.

2015 Recipients

  • Dr. Renee Bryce: Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, University of North Texas
  • Dr. Margaret Burnett: Professor, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Oregon State University
  • Dr. Colleen Lewis: Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science, Harvey Mudd College
  • Dr. Lorie Loeb: Research Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science, Dartmouth College
2015 NCWIT URM Winners
(pictured from left to right) Renee Bryce, Margaret Burnett, Mayim Balik, Colleen Lewis, and Patricia Morreale (accepting award for Lorie Loeb)

2014 Recipients

  • Dr. Robert Beck: Professor, Department of Computing Sciences, Villanova University
  • Dr. Marie desJardins: Professor, Department of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, University of Maryland-Baltimore County
  • Dr. Silvia Figueira: Associate Professor, Department of Computer Engineering, Santa Clara University
  • Dr. Alan Jamieson: Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science, St. Mary's College of Maryland

Read more in this press release.

2013 Recipients

  • Dr. Margaret Martonosi: Professor, Department of Computer Science, Princeton University
  • Dr. Anne Ngu: Professor, Department of Computer Science, Texas State University
  • Dr. Fay Cobb Payton: Professor, Information Technology and University Faculty Scholar, North Carolina State University
  • Dr. Cheryl Swanier: Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science, Fort Valley State University
URM Group Photo

2012 Recipients

Read more in this October 2012 issue of CACM (under "Milestones/CS Awards")

  • Dr. Diana Franklin: Tenure-Equivalent Teaching Faculty, Department of Computer Science, University of California at Santa Barbara
  • Dr. Juan Gilbert: IDEaS Professor and Chair, Human-Centered Computing Division, School of Computing, Clemson University
  • Dr. Scott McCrickard: Associate Professor Department of Computer Science, Virginia Tech
  • Dr. Mingrui Zhang: Professor, Department of Computer Science, Winona State University