NCWIT Extension Services Transformation (NEXT) Awards

NCWIT Extension Services (ES) provides customized consultation to academic departments to help improve their strategic recruitment and retention of women students in their majors. To recognize the achievements of these outstanding departments, NCWIT has established the NCWIT Extension Services Transformation (NEXT) Awards. 


The NEXT Awards celebrate past and present ES clients for excellence in recruiting and retaining women in computing education. The awards reflect and reward practices that NCWIT recognizes as having the most significant impact on the long-term goal of increasing the number of women in information technology and other computing-related fields. Departments receiving a NEXT Award show significant positive outcomes in women’s enrollment and graduation rates, and have excellent potential for building on these gains. Both small and large departments are encouraged to apply.

NCWIT is pleased to announce the 2019 NEXT Award recipients!

Grand Prize Recipient Colorado School of Mines and Second Place Recipient University of California, Berkeley, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences (CS), Letters & Science CS Major will be honored at the 2019 NCWIT Summit.

Read their full commendations online.

The call for 2020 NEXT Award Applications is now closed.

Grand Prize $100,000 | 2nd Place $50,000

Applications are due September 27, 2019 (midnight PDT).

Current and former Extension Services clients are eligible.

  • For more information on how to apply, please visit the 2020 Application Instructions and FAQs webpage.
  • To view the 2020 NEXT Award Information webinar, please click this link.
  • A PDF of the 2020 NEXT Award Information webinar slides is available for download here.

What are the Awards?

The Grand Prize ($100,000) and Second Place ($50,000) NEXT Awards for Excellence in Promoting Women in Undergraduate Computing are given to ES client organizations (department, departments, or college) that demonstrate a strong commitment to and proven results in recruiting and retaining women into undergraduate computing programs. Awardees are able to demonstrate: 1) an upward and sustained trend in admissions, enrollments, and graduations of women in the targeted majors; 2) a focus on institutional and structural change; 3) the effective use of NCWIT resources and strategies related to the ES Systemic Change model and appropriate to the organization’s particular circumstances; and 4) that the work is the result of a team effort.

Read about past award-winning initiatives online.

View Previous Winners

For questions about the NEXT Awards, contact

Get To Know Us: 

Lecia Barker

Senior Research Scientist

Leisa Thompson

Director of Research and Consulting for Extension Services

Gretchen Achenbach

Research Scientist

Zhen Wu

Research Scientist

Sherri L. Sanders

Director of Extension Services

Jamie Huber Ward

Associate Director of Extension Services

Hannah Weber

Assistant to the Director of Extension Services