Advising for Future-Ready Careers

Advising for Future-Ready Careers is a monthly webinar series, hosted by NCWIT Counselors for Computing (C4C), providing information and resources to help counselors join the front line of the computing conversation. This webinar series is free and open to the public, ages 16 and up - geared toward School Counselors, Educators, graduate students, and those in school advising roles.

Advising for Future-Ready Careers is funded by the Department of Defense STEM (DoD STEM) seeking to attract, inspire, and develop exceptional STEM talent across the educational continuum.

Upcoming Webinars

For Computer Science to truly be for ALL, we must include students with disabilities. As an educator with many students, not all differences will be visible or even known to the students themselves. Sensory, developmental, learning, intellectual and physical disabilities, social, emotional and behavioral disabilities, attention-deficit disorders, issues with executive function, or even a lack of a student’s background can all create bias and a potential lack of access. Join NCWIT Counselors for Computing as we discuss the commitment to supporting improved accessibility for students with disabilities and the possible hurdles that students from different backgrounds must overcome. The May webinar features award-winning educators along with a student panel.

Register* for a one-hour session, each occurring on Wednesday, May 19, 2021:

  • Register for 6:00 p.m. ET / 5:00 p.m. CT / 4:00 p.m. MT / 3:00 p.m. PT
  • Register for 7:00 p.m. ET / 6:00 p.m. CT / 5:00 p.m. MT / 4:00 p.m. PT
  • Register for 8:00 p.m. ET / 7:00 p.m. CT / 6:00 p.m. MT / 5:00 p.m. PT

*The first 150 registered participants will receive a $25 Amazon gift card. ALL participants receive a FREE resource kit.

 

Playback Previous Webinars

Episode 3, originally broadcast on April 21, features Kevin Nolten, Director of Academic Outreach at Cyber.org, and Samina Mondal, founder of Cyberweek.org. Cybersecurity careers are among the fastest-growing career areas nationally and are predicted to grow seven times faster than other fields. Tune in as Kevin and Samina share cybersecurity educational pathways and how to encourage the next generation of problem solvers, original thinkers, and technical leaders! 

 

Episode 2, originally broadcast on March 24, features Apptuitive CEO and Founder Carissa Lintao. She has been recognized in Forbes, CNBC, Business Insider, and Roadtrip Nation's documentary 'Venture Forward' for her entrepreneurial efforts and focuses on changing tech for the better. Carissa's passion is raising awareness about the intersection of ethics and tech to bridge information gaps and level the playing field.

 

Episode 1, originally broadcast February 24, 2021, features CEOs and Founders of Likeable STEM Anesha and Annika Santhanam. This platform is dedicated to students in upper elementary, middle, and high school—especially girls—aiming to engage them in learning STEM in a fun, visual, and interactive manner.