March 6, 2009

32 Women Nationwide Recognized for Computing Aspirations

As part of an effort to encourage more young women to choose careers in technology, the National Center for Women & Information Technology (NCWIT) and Bank of America will recognize 32 high school women for their accomplishments and aspirations in computing and technology.  

The young women from across the United States are winners of the NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing, which recognizes high school women for their computing-related achievements and interests.  They will be honored at a Technology Stars of the Future Technology Showcase & Awards Ceremony on March 7, 2009.

“Encouraging young women’s interest in technology careers is critical. Our workforce needs their creativity and their innovation,” said Lucy Sanders, CEO and Co-founder of NCWIT.  “Bank of America’s support for this award helps us recognize and encourage talent that might otherwise be overlooked.”

The NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing was created to highlight the computing aspirations of young women, introduce them to leadership opportunities in the field, and generate visibility for women’s participation in technology fields. The award-winners, chosen among 379 applications from 38 states, are being acknowledged for their outstanding aptitude and interest in technology and computing, leadership ability, academic history, and plans for post-secondary education.

Following are the 2009 winners of the NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing:

Sky Adams


Santa Barbara, CA


Dos Pueblos High School

Lauren Cagley


Charlotte, NC


Providence Day School

Jessica Chen


Diamond Bar, CA


Diamond Bar High School

Tiffany Chen


Brea, CA


Troy High School

Willa Chen


Canton, MI


Canton High School

Mailee Chue


Lenoir, NC


Caldwell Career Center Middle College

Ann Conway


Belmont, MA


Montrose School

Kacyn Fujii


Cupertino, CA


Menlo School

Alexis Gill


Jacksonville, FL


Edward H. White Senior High School

Jennifer Greene


Hackensack, NJ


Bergen County Academies

Garima Gupta


Jacksonville, FL


Stanton College Prep High School

Erin Hanson


Glen Burnie, MD


Glen Burnie Senior High School

Natalie Hildebrandt


Littleton, CO


D'Evelyn Senior High School

Catherine Hu


Scarsdale, NY


Horace Mann School

Rachel Johnson


Acworth, GA


Kennesaw Mountain High School

Emily Kuo


Chicago, IL


University of Chicago Lab School

Klaudia Leja


Chicago, IL


Northside College Prep High School

Jiashan Liang


Westford, MA


Westford Academy

Caroline Lichtenberger


Libertyville, IL


Libertyville High School

Andrea Lincoln


Woodside, CA


The Harker School

Ekaterina Nepomnyashchaya


Bellevue, WA


Bellevue High School

Elisa Pacheco


Charlotte, NC


Olympic High (METS)

Anika Petach


Boulder, CO


Fairview High School

Mayra Alejandra Reyes


Miami Springs, FL


Miami Springs Senior High School

Gabriella Snyder


South Hadley, MA


The MacDuffie School

Julia Sterling


Brooklyn, NY


Stuyvesant High School

Jessica Stringham


Oregon City, OR


Oregon City High School

Marian Styer


Fair Oaks, CA


St. Francis High School

Kristine Thompson


Evergreen, CO


Conifer High School

Jessica Vincent


Dahlonega, GA


Lumpkin County High School

Sarah Williams


Rockwall, TX


Rockwall High School

Lucia Xiong


Southlake, TX


Carroll Senior High School


NCWIT is the National Center for Women & Information Technology, a non-profit coalition of over 170 prominent corporations, academic institutions, government agencies, and nonprofits working to improve U.S. innovation, competitiveness, and workforce sustainability by increasing women's participation in IT. NCWIT's work spans K-12 and higher education through industry and academic careers. NCWIT members include ACM, Anita Borg Institute, AT&T, Avaya, Bank of America, Bryn Mawr, Catalyst, Cisco, CRA, Duke, Girl Scouts of the USA, Georgia Tech, Google, Harvard, HP, Intel, IBM, Kauffman Foundation, Marriott, MIT, Microsoft, Motorola, NSF, University of Texas at El Paso, Pfizer, Princeton, Qualcomm, Sally Ride Science, Spelman College, Stanford University, Sun Microsystems, University of Colorado, University of California at Berkeley, University of California at Irvine, University of Washington, Wal-Mart, and many more. Find out more at