May 13, 2008

The National Center for Women & Information Technology (NCWIT) and Bank of America today named 28 young women as winners of this year’s NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing. The prestigious award recognizes young high school women for their computing-related achievements and interests.

The award-winners are being acknowledged for their outstanding aptitude and interest in information technology and computing, solid leadership ability, good academic history and plans for post-secondary education. Winners were selected from metro-area Atlanta, Boston, Charlotte, Chicago, Dallas and New York City high schools.

The winners are:

Natalia Alvarez: The Lawrenceville School, Lawrenceville, New Jersey

Wendy Cheang: Trinity School, New York, New York

Paulina Karpis: Stuyvesant High School, New York, New York

Diana Liskovich: Stuyvesant High School, New York, New York

Connie Liu: Stuyvesant High School, New York, NY

Katherine Argueta: School of Business & Management, Dallas, Texas

Lillybeth Garza: The Academy of Irving ISD, Irving, Texas

Elizabeth Lass: School for the Talented and Gifted, Dallas, Texas

Gracie Saunders: TAG Magnet at Yvonne A. Ewell Townview Center, Dallas, Texas

Lauren Yew: Prosper High School, Prosper, Texas

Meredith Derr: Barrington High School, Barrington, Illinois

Dessirree Gray: Simeon Career Academy, Chicago, Illinois

Aimee Lucido: University of Chicago Laboratory High School, Chicago, Illinois

Elisabeth Morant: University of Chicago Laboratory High School, Chicago, IL

Kathryn Vanderwater: Plainfield North High School, Plainfield, Illinois

Khalia Braswell: Phillip O. Berry Academy of Technology, Charlotte, North Carolina

Jennifer Dudeck: METS at Olympic High School, Charlotte, North Carolina

Chasity Holt : Zebulon B. Vance High School, Charlotte, North Carolina

Monique Jones: Garinger High School, Charlotte, North Carolina

Ranika Kejriwal: Cannon School, Concord, North Carolina

Connie Chan: Boston Latin Academy, Dorchester, Massachusetts

Symaj Davis: Cambridge Rindge and Latin School, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Noelle Devoe: Haverhill High School, Haverhill, Massachusetts

Courtney Edwards: Brookwood High School, Snellville, Georgia

Brittany Freeman: Creekside High School, Fairburn, Georgia

Nina Henry: Creekside High School, Fairburn, Georgia

Laura Stahley: Morrow High School, Morrow, Georgia

Nichole Wiggins: Frederick Douglass High School, Atlanta, Georgia

The NCWIT Award was created to acknowledge the computing aspirations of young women and generate visibility for women’s participation in computing-related pursuits. “Encouraging young women’s interest in technology careers is critical: our workforce needs their creativity and their innovation,” said Lucy Sanders, CEO and Co-founder of NCWIT. “Bank of America’s sponsorship for this award helps us recognize and encourage talent that might otherwise be overlooked.”

“Bank of America is pleased to partner with NCWIT to help more young women pursue technology-related careers,” said Barbara Desoer, chief technology & operations officer at Bank of America. “These skills are in demand across the world, so it’s imperative we invest in our students and give them the resources and opportunities they need to compete and thrive in the global economy.”

Each award winner will receive:

  • $500 in cash
  • A laptop computer provided by Bank of America
  • An all-expenses paid trip, provided by Bank of America, for each award winner and a parent or guardian to attend the Bank of America Celebrating the Stars of the Future Technology Showcase and Awards ceremony August 2-3, 2008 in Charlotte
  • An engraved award for both the student and the student’s school
  • Inclusion in a video highlighting her accomplishments in computing, her future aspirations and her participation in the awards ceremony
  • The opportunity to apply for a three-year internship with Bank of America beginning the summer following her freshman year of college

The winners will be honored August 2, 2008, in Charlotte at the Bank of America Celebrating Stars of the Future Technology Showcase and Awards Ceremony.

Bank of America

Bank of America is one of the world's largest financial institutions, serving individual consumers, small and middle market businesses and large corporations with a full range of banking, investing, asset management and other financial and risk-management products and services. The company provides unmatched convenience in the United States, serving more than 59 million consumer and small business relationships with more than 6,100 retail banking offices, nearly 18,500 ATMs and award-winning online banking with nearly 25 million active users. Bank of America is the No. 1 overall Small Business Administration (SBA) lender in the United States and the No. 1 SBA lender to minority-owned small businesses. The company serves clients in more than 150 countries and has relationships with 99 percent of the U.S. Fortune 500 companies and 83 percent of the Fortune Global 500. Bank of America Corporation stock (NYSE: BAC) is a component of the Dow Jones Industrial Average and is listed on the New York Stock Exchange.


NCWIT is a coalition of over 100 prominent corporations, academic institutions, government agencies, and non-profits working to increase women's participation in information technology (IT). Member organizations include Avaya, Bank of America, Catalyst, Cisco, Girl Scouts of the USA, Girls Inc., Georgia Tech, Google, Harvard, HP, Intel, IBM, Kauffman Foundation, Lehman Brothers, MIT, Microsoft, Motorola, National Science Foundation, University of Texas at El Paso, University of Illinois UC, Pfizer, Princeton, Qualcomm, Sally Ride Science, Spelman, Stanford, Sun, University of Colorado, UC Berkeley, UC Irvine, University of Washington, Wal-Mart, and many more. To find out more visit