NCWIT Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award

The annual NCWIT Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award recognizes U.S. Academic Alliance representatives for their outstanding mentorship, high-quality research opportunities, recruitment of women and minority students, and efforts to encourage and advance undergraduates in computing-related fields.

Students often cite the importance of an individual faculty mentor whose support influenced their educational and career path. Data show that research experiences for undergraduates (REUs) can make a difference in students’ lives and provide a pathway to graduate degrees and research careers. REUs can be particularly important for women – who earn only 18% of all bachelor’s degrees in computing – since they provide opportunities for personalized student-faculty interaction, a strong predictor of student retention.

The Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award accepts nominations for faculty from all Academic Alliance member institutions (a school may become a member after one of its faculty is nominated.)  We are pleased to announce AT&T is now sponsoring this award and the institution where the school resides will receive $5,000 that the winner can use for their research.  NCWIT REU Award Committee members are not eligible to nominate or be nominated.


AT&T and NCWIT are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014 Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award via Press Release. We look forward to hearing from the winners at the Summit 2014.

Click Here for Previous Winners.

People Involved: 

Margaret Burnett

Co-chair Liaison

Maureen Doyle

Project Team Co-leader

Scott McCrickard

Project Team Co-leader